top of page

A Retrospective of MDMA (not the drug)

Having taken my leave from Music and Digital Media with diploma-in-tow nearly eight months ago now, it seems appropriate to take a moment and reflect on the program, and address the future uses of the skills I have attained from my time studying.

First of all, a little context for those of you not familiar: starting in the Fall of 2014, I had enrolled in St. Lawrence College's Music and Digital Media Program - a series of courses aimed at providing the beginnings of a formal music education and integrating that with the modern era of independence artistry. The program focused on the combination of music and visual art, generally in abstract video effects and music videos - mediums to better highlight and emphasize an artists music.

With my particular background, however (that of both music education and visual arts) I found that I gravitated more towards the creation of visuals more-so than the music. As a result, I was often contracted to help develop the animation side of a project, while only occasionally participating in the musical composition. The end products, although wildly varied, were generally well received and a blast to work on.

So now that I have graduated, and left to my own devices, what is my next step? Well, I've been planning some very interesting projects in the new year. These range from tried and true animations and compositions, to some new and personally exotic directions.

I will resume a regular update in the new year, so stay tuned...


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page